Day 3 – Cease to Exist

It was a tough one today.  My brain ‘wobble’ is bad and I’m having a really hard time just getting through.  My kids are my first priority so I try to save my strength for them as much as possible.  Meditation was a struggle this morning as my mind wanted to pull me ahead to all the things I ‘need’ to get done and drag me into the past where things seemed to be easier.  I know that neither of those places exist though and the best way to find some peace is to focus on the breath…the in and out of air that only ever happens NOW.

As I fidgeted and stretched a sore back through 45 minutes of “stillness” I was struck by a vision of an acorn.  A dear friend and spiritual mentor, Liza Hindmarch, gave me an acorn during a group meditation session about a year ago.  She told us that contained in that seed was the potential for a great oak tree.  Though impossible to see that potential it does fully exist and requires nothing other than planting for it to grow.  You can’t force a tree to grow from the seed, you can only surround it with the soil, space, water and sunshine it needs to begin its transformation.  This got me to reflect on what I need to undertake my own transformation and manifest my true potential.  Am I surrounding myself with fertile soil?  Do I give myself the space I need?  Am I watering and sunning myself as much as I need?  If I don’t do these things for myself how can I ever hope to grow?

acorn

The acorn Liza gave me.

5 thoughts on “Day 3 – Cease to Exist

  1. Good Jo keep going my dear! 😉 Meditation isn’t easy and truly sometimes the mind can go all over the place but more you do it daily.. try all your best to stay focused during the time that you meditate and every day is a step further. The acorn seed is great to focus on a positive way of thinking, also nurture yourself during the day of little things you like and make you feel good. I wish you all the best and I am sending you love and light ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

