The Possession of Our Own Being

This beautifully written post speaks directly to me. I hope you enjoy it as much as I do.

Jaqui Eicher

Il bel far niente. (the art of doing nothing) Il bel far niente.
(the art of doing nothing)

There are days when I can’t face the thought of being home alone in my apartment, but it has nothing to do with being single. On these days, I feel agitated, as if there are countless things I should be doing, but I can’t seem to begin any of them. Nothing seems right. I elect to run errands–I find something to do outside my apartment and outside my own head (away from the things that call to me). I feel a moment’s reprieve from my agitation because while running errands I feel I am accomplishing something.

For nearly as long as I can remember I’ve had this feeling: “I should be doing something else entirely,” no matter what I am doing at any moment. This certainly keeps me busy, and usually leaves me with a an unsatisfied itch, even when I…

View original post 203 more words

2 thoughts on “The Possession of Our Own Being

Leave a Reply

